News and Announcements

Iamarone named MVP!

Posted by Rhode Island Connie Mack Baseball - 2020 at Aug 21, 2020 7:30AM PDT

Anthony Iamarone, who picked up a complete game victory in the clinching game of the Rhode Island Connie Mack State Championship, was named MVP of the finals. In game two, he also added three hits (one double).


Led by an strong offense that peaked at the right time, Flood Ford Auto won the 2020 Rhode Island Connie Mack title for the first time since 2011.

Game One: Flood Ford 12 Slocum 6

In game one, Chris Manzo pitched six innings to pick up the win and Dan Rice pitched Flood out of jam in the seventh to preserve the win.

Offensively, Flood received key hits from Griffin Crain (2/2 with 2 walks, 3 runs scored & 1 rbi), Jack Hornstein (2/2, 1 walk & 2 rbi’s) and Dan Rice (2/4, 2 runs scored & 1 rbi).

Slocum Baseball 3 0 0 1 0 1 1 6 6 3
Flood Ford Auto 3 0 2 0 2 5 X 12 9 3

Slocum: Quarella, Walsh (5), Daft (6) & Kearns
Flood Ford: Manzo, Rice (7) and Hornstein

Game Two: Flood Ford 11 Slocum 6
Led by tournament MVP Anthony Iamarone, Flood captured the title with a 12-6 win over Slocum.

Iamarone, who struck out ten batters, allowed only three hits in a complete game effort.

Offensively, Flood was led by Xavier Quezada (2/4, 4 rbi’s), Chris Manzo (2/2, 2 walks & 3 rbi’s), Owen Leahy (2/2, one walk) & Anthony Iamarone (3/5, 1 double).

Flood Ford Auto 0 2 0 5 0 4 0 11 15 4
Slocum Baseball 0 6 0 0 0 0 0 6 3 1

Flood Ford: Iamarone & Hornstein
Slocum: Coyne, Morton (4), Perry (6) & Kearns


Slocum Baseball Club advanced to the Rhode Island Connie Mack State Championship by sweeping regular season co-champion, Chariho, in two straight games.

Game One: Slocum 4 Chariho 2

In a well-pitched game by both teams, Slocum edged Chariho, 4-2.

Owen Caldwell went the distance to pick up the victory.

Offensively, Slocum received two timely hits by Geoff Coyne (two doubles) and Jake Morton (two singles).

For Chariho, Justin Giles had a strong pitching performance and Liam Goldstein had two hits and two rbi’s.

After Chariho went up 2-0 early in the game, Slocum tied it 2-2 in the 4th and then scored single runs in the fifth and sixth.

Game Two: Slocum 3 Chariho 2

In one of the best games of the playoffs, Slocum held on to a one run win when they turned a 3-2-4 double play with the bases loaded to end the game and advance to the finals with a 3-2 win over regular season Co-Champion, Chariho.

For Slocum, Kieran Gibson threw 5 1/3 innings before Braeden Perry pitched the final 1 2/3 innings for the save.

Brendan Kearns, Geoff Coyne, Aidan Lafferty and Mason Walsh had strong offensive performances for Slocum.

Jack Kesner threw a complete game for Chariho. Offensively, Liam Flynn, Mark Wightman, Liam Goldstein, Josh Smitty and Anthony Fusaro all had hits for Chariho.

After Slocum added an insurance run in the bottom of the sixth inning for a 3-1 lead, Chariho fought their way back, cutting the lead to 3-2 in the top of the seventh inning. When the loaded the bases with one out, however, Slocum turned a 3-2-4 double play to end the game.


For the first time since 2012, Flood Ford Auto advanced to Rhode Island Connie Mack Championship. Flood, which won their last title in 2011, defeated East Greenwich in two straight games.

They will play Slocum Baseball Club, who won the title in 2016.

Game One: Flood Ford Auto 5 East Greenwich 3

Lead by the solid pitching of Connor Kennedy and reliever Danny Rice, Flood held off a late Avenger rally for a 5-3 win in game one. Rob Whalen led Flood with three hits and one rbi.

Game Two: Flood Ford Auto 4 East Greenwich 1

In game two, Danny Rice went 3/3 with two rbi’s and Jonas Kendra picked up the win by striking out four batters and scattering five hits.

Owen Drolet of East Greenwich had three hits to lead the Avengers.


In game one, Chariho, who finished in a tie for first place with Flood Ford, needed a walk-off hit by Johnny Pellegrino in the bottom of the eighth inning to defeat Narragansett/South Kingstown, 9-8.

Offensively, Mark Wightman, Anthony Fusaro and Josh Smithey each had big nights at the plate.

In game two, Jack Kesner, who pitched the first five innings and Anthony Fusaro, who held off the Lions in the final innings, combined to lead Chariho to a 8-6 series clinching victory.

Jack Kesner, Liam Flynn, Justin Giles, Josh Smithey and Anthony Fusaro all ignited the Charger offense.

The play Slocum in the Semi-Finals.